What’s that? You don’t know what spina bifida is?


I know most of you have probably never heard of spina bifida before. If you have, it was probably explained by a doctor who used all those technical, medical terms they use to confuse their patients, and you’re sitting there staring at him like he’s got fire coming out his ears or has three heads!! Believe me, I’ve seen ME do it!!!

Relax, simmer down and take a deep breath. That’s not what this blog is about. I want you to feel comfortable coming to my page and reading my story. I want to talk to you like we were talking face-to-face or on the phone. If you have a question, a comment, or a topic you’d like me to discuss, I want to hear it. I want to develop a relationship with my followers and know what you want to see or read on my blog.

Oh yeah, what the heck did I come in here for anyway? That’s right, you wanted to know what spina bifida is. Well, come on in, pull up a chair and I’ll tell you. Spina bifida in everyday, “Jason Bourne” terms, is a disability I was born with, that has caused me to be paralyzed below the waist. I can’t feel my legs, and because of this, I motor around the house, in public, and in the city of Marietta, Ga., where I work in a bright red wheelchair. Because of the spina bifida I have other underlying conditions, that are really personal, that I would rather keep quiet, until I feel more comfortable.

Well, that’s it in a nutshell. If you have a question, comment, a topic you want to discuss, or just want to stop in and say hello, drop a note in the comment box. Thanks for taking the time to stop by and visit. I’ll try to make the place look better the next time you stop in!!

13 thoughts on “What’s that? You don’t know what spina bifida is?

    • Hi Meagan,

      Thanks for stopping by the blog and leaving a comment. I want to welcome you to my spina bifida journey and welcome any comments, questions, topic suggestion or feedback that you may have. I want my readers to feel comfortable about talking with me, and want to develop a long-lasting friendship with all of you.

      Tell me a little about yourself and what you would llike me to discuss on my blog… what things could I talk about that will help you understand my disability better? I know life sometimes can be a struggle and want to offer people reading my blog hope for a better future. I want people to understand that although they may be different, they can do anything they set their minds to.

      God bless and thanks again for dropping by.

      Peace and love, Jason

  1. Hi Jason, dropped by after your Twitter invitation. Nice to meet a fellow Georgian. I have a family member who is a paraplegic. Hope to drop by your blog again. ~ Leslie

    • Hi Leslie,

      Thanks for stopping by the blog and leaving a comment. I want to welcome you to my spina bifida journey and welcome any comments, questions, topic suggestion or feedback that you may have. I want my readers to feel comfortable about talking with me and want to develop a long-lasting friendship with all of you.

      Tell me a little about yourself and your family member who’s a para… I am very proud of you and your family for supporting them. I know life sometimes can be a struggle and want to offer people reading my blog hope for a better future. I want people to understand that although they may be different, they can do anything they set their minds to.

      God bless and thanks again for dropping by, Jason

    • Hi Fabi. Thank you for stopping by. Thank you for the wonderful comment. Like I said, I’ve had spina bifida all my life and I know that all the obstacles and trials I’ve experienced have only served to make me stronger. I am a better man from having been diagnosed with spina bifida, and it’s my sincere hope that I can offer you a little hope and inspiration to never give up on life and to keep fighting. I encourage you to ask me anything you wish, nothing is too personal in our discussions. I want our dialogue to be completely open and honest. I have nothing to hide, and you shouldn’t be afraid or ashamed to ask anything you want. Relationships, hobbies, family, anything you want to know, feel free to ask!! Take care and keep believing 🙂

  2. Well Jason U are one in a million! Reading the tittle “Jason’s Spina Bifida Journey” gave me impression that U are brilliant! I wouldn’t think about that tittle…. Simple but so deep…. Be proud of urself and U are more alive than me, someone with no spina bifida… Good luck n God Bless U always!

    Mieke.

    • Hello Mieke. Glad you stopped by to walk down my incredible journey. I truly am inspired and humbled by your comment, thank you so much. I have no words to thank you for the hope that one simple comment gave me. I am just one simple man, who is doing his job the best way I know how, and all the glory, honor and praise goes to the Lord. I am curious about why you thought the title was so deep? We are all on our own incredible journey, Meike, all you have to do is stop, take a step back and just take it all in. I praise God every day for allowing me the chance to take a trip on this incredibly amazing journey called life, and I welcome you on my journey.

      Meike, I have to be honest. When I read the line “you are more alive than me, someone with no spina bifida,” I got a little sad because you are just as ALIVE as me. You have so much to be living for, and I want to help you along your journey. I am so inspired by people like you, who stand with me in my walk of life. Meike, I want to make you a promise right now. I promise I will help lead you to great heights on your journey of life, but you have to make me a promise. I want you to promise me you will NEVER give up on yourself. You have a beautiful heart and soul, and I am truly humbled and blessed to know you. God bless you Meike!! Much love. If you need to talk, please stop in and say hello.

      • That is so wise n sweet Jason….
        See? U are more alive than me! I live because of my kids and my responsibility to them n to God that gives me the wonderful 3 kids to raise, teach, educate to be not only the smart people but most important thing is to be a good hearted ones….
        That’s why I need to and have to live….:)))
        U will find the way to reach ur dreams…. Happiness is our own creation… Can’t wait it falls from the sky…. So go for it Jason…:)

        I told U that I like Jason Bourne right?
        I saw all his sequelle of ‘The Bourne Identity”.
        LOL…:)))

  3. Good for you Jason! Would love to hear more and hope you continue with this! I will always be interested! I am glad to be here from the beginning….

    @SusanLorelei

  4. I do know what spina bifida is so what you had to say was not a surprise. Your honesty and willingness to talk about this is wonderful. Post your blog on some spina bifida sites and see what happens…or maybe you already have. Keep the writing coming.

  5. Thank you for inviting me to read your amazing essay. You are a remarkable young man and living proof that attitude can trump aptitude.

    I love the fact that your wheels are bright red. Are you able to drive a car too?

  6. It was nice to read this post too Jason! Wonderful introduction to the outgoing person that you are. I appreciate the fact that you are willing to share from your personal experiences. I wonder if you really understand how helpful this can be for family members dealing with Spina Bifida. You have given us all an Amazing Blessing.

    Judy Schneider

Leave a Reply

