The Blessings


I didn’t write this poem, I received it in my inbox this morning. I really wish I had written it because it is so true and makes me stop and re-examine how I live my life. Do I really go out and bless those around me? I don’t think I try very hard to bless my friends, but I hope they see the Lord in everything I do. It’s my hope that people see the love of the Lord in everything I do and every word I say. How do you live your life? Do people see the blessings of the Lord through your actions and words? Maybe it’s time to re-examine your life…

Blessings

I knelt to pray when day was done
And prayed, “O Lord, bless everyone,

Lift from each saddened heart the pain
And let the sick be well again.”

And then I woke another day
And carelessly went on my way,

The whole day long I did not try
To wipe a tear from any eye.

I did not try to share the load
Of any brother on the road.

I did not even go to see
The sick man just next door to me.

Yet once again when day was done
I prayed, “O Lord, bless everyone.”

But as I prayed, into my ear
There came a voice that whispered clear,

“Pause now, my son, before you pray.
Whom have you tried to bless today?

God’s sweetest blessings always go
By hands that serve him here below.”

And then I hid my face and cried,
“Forgive me, God, I have not tried,

But let me live another day
And I will live the way I pray.”

3 thoughts on “The Blessings

  1. Thank you Jason, for the early morning reminder! We all need to hear this voice from time to time. You have reminded me this morning to take the day slower, and take the time to appreciate the blessings and pass them on to others too!

    :0)s, Love, Blessings, and Really Big Hugs to you my friend!

    • You’re welcome Judy, but I really think you’re thanking the wrong Person. I believe all the glory and praise for the blessings goes to Christ, Who gives us the blessings to be able to stop and slow down to realize their presence. I have noticed God’s blessings much more than I used to, and it doesn’t always happen at home. I’ll be driving down the road, to or from work, or walking to the Square for lunch, and see a deer feeding on the side of the road, a beautiful, amazing sunrise, a flock of geese flying overhead or even a small child playing with their family in the park. I also find blessings at work, an email from a friend, a pleasant phone call from someone with advice, or praise from someone because I did a good job. Have a great night.

Leave a Reply

