Where Did the Time Go?


This past Saturday night, millions of people set their clocks ahead one hour before they went to sleep, which means we lost an hour of sleep. I’m not one to complain, but I could have really used that extra hour, especially after the past couple weeks at work.

I shouldn’t really say that because I’m usually always tired, maybe because I’m always sitting in my wheelchair and can’t get up to stretch my legs or “get the blood flowing again,” as people like to say.

The time change doesn’t really affect me, except when I know I’m going to have a big week at the office or have a big project coming up that I know I need to devote my undivided attention to. What I mean is, if I’m given a deadline to get something done at work, I feel a little pressure to do my best to make sure everything is perfect and that I haven’t forgotten everything. But when we “spring forward” I almost feel a little more pressure to get things done faster because I know we lost that hour somewhere…

Another way I feel the effects of the time change is with my family. I don’t really spend a lot of time with my parents and two sisters because I put in so much time at the office, but whenever I get to spend a few minutes with them, it really makes me feel good inside. Whenever we lose an hour, I feel like I’m losing that precious time with family because it seems like I get home, tell my mom about my day, eat something if I’m hungry, and before I know it, it’s 9 p.m. and time for me to go to bed.

I remember last week I was really beat after work a couple days and even came home and went to bed about 7:30. I must have really needed that sleep because I woke up refreshed, ready to face the world again and take on more challenges. Now, since we lost 60 minutes of our day, I feel like I need to get in bed at 6 p.m. to make up for the 3,600 seconds we lost to Father Time.

But like I said, I’m not complaining because losing an hour of my day will only serve to make me stronger because I’ll have to buckle down, set priorities and work harder to meet deadlines. I’ll also have to make sure I don’t ruin my relationship with my friends and family by making sure I make the most of the time I spend with them. I also want to make sure they get the most out of the time they spend with me, by not fussing when something is not going my way, always having a smile on my face and always asking if there is anything they need or anything I can do for them.

As I close, let me ask you a question. How does the time change affect your daily routine and your relationships with those you love? Are you making the most out of your time with friends and loved ones? Are you doing everything you can to be the most productive employee at your office? Are you taking enough time for yourself, to unwind and re-energize your mind, body and spirit?

2 thoughts on “Where Did the Time Go?

  1. To be honest I don’t notice the time change much at all except when I putting the kids to bed and they fuss because its light out. Good blog!

  2. I have to be honest with you, Jason! I have not reset my bedroom clock since last year, so now it is right. lol! Don’t feel like I lost an hour now, it just feels like I am right on time.

    :0)s and Hugs!

Leave a Reply

