The story of the folded napkin


My best friend and a very dear coworker sent this to me this morning and I knew I had to share it with my readers. I am so blessed this Easter because I know that my Lord and Savior Jesus Christ rose from the dead to come live forever in my heart. I can’t even fathom how scared he was to sacrifice his body for those who believe in Him, to die on the cross for our sins.

I can’t imagine the pain and agony his disciples, but more importantly his father and mother, were going through as they saw the nails hammered into Jesus’ hands and feet, and that crown of thorns placed upon His head. I am so unworthy of such a sacrifice, and every morning I praise our Heavenly Father for making what I’m sure most of you would agree is the ULTIMATE sacrifice. I hope you take the opportunity this Easter to remember the sacrifices Jesus made for you and I and to rejoice that yes indeed, HE IS RISEN!! God bless you all. I hope you enjoy this story.

It’s Easter and we all know the story I hope? Why did Jesus fold the napkin? Do you know why?  This is just beautiful.

Why did Jesus fold the napkin?

This is one I can honestly say I have never seen circulating in the e-mails, so I’ll start it. If it touches you, please leave a comment and let me know how you celebrate the day our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ rose from that grave to live forever in the hearts of all who believe in Him.

Why did Jesus fold the linen burial cloth after His resurrection? I never noticed this…

The Gospel of John (20:7) tells us that the napkin, which was placed over the face of Jesus, was not just thrown aside like the grave clothes.

The Bible takes an entire verse to tell us that the napkin was neatly folded and was placed at the head of that stony coffin.

Early Sunday morning, while it was still dark, Mary Magdalene came to the tomb and found that the stone had been rolled away from the entrance.

She ran and found Simon Peter and the other disciple, the one whom Jesus loved. She said, ‘They have taken the Lord’s body out of the tomb, and I don’t know where they have put him!’

Peter and the other disciple ran to the tomb to see. The other disciple out ran Peter and got there first. He stopped and looked in and saw the linen cloth lying there, but he didn’t go in.

Then Simon Peter arrived and went inside. He also noticed the linen wrappings lying there, while the cloth that had covered Jesus’ head was folded up and lying to the side.

Was that important? Absolutely!

Is it really significant? Yes!

In order to understand the significance of the folded napkin, you have to understand a little bit about Hebrew tradition of that day. The folded napkin had to do with the Master and Servant, and every Jewish boy knew this tradition.

When the servant set the dinner table for the master, he made sure that it was exactly the way the master wanted it.

The table was furnished perfectly, and then the servant would wait, just out of sight, until the master had finished eating, and the servant would not dare touch that table until the master was finished.

Now if the master were done eating, he would rise from the table, wipe his fingers, his mouth, clean his beard and wad up that napkin and toss it onto the table.

The servant would then know to clear the table. For in those days, the wadded napkin meant, “I’m finished.”

But if the master got up from the table, folded his napkin and laid it beside his plate, the servant would not dare touch the table because…

The folded napkin meant “I’m coming back!”

If this story impacted you the way it did me, please let me know by leaving a comment. How do you celebrate Easter? Do you know Jesus as your Savior? What’s your story? Do you believe that Jesus has risen to live in the hearts of His believers?

4 thoughts on “The story of the folded napkin

  1. Great job I enjoyed it and yes I do believe that Jesus is my savior and came into my heart to save me from my sins. I wouldn’t be able to do the things I’m able to do today without his help. and we celebrate Easter on the day after with Canada cuz that’s where we get the clearance sale candy at but we always go to the church service and watch the charlie brown special and stuff. Amber

  2. What a powerful story. I never understood why the cloth was folded, nor did I know of the Hebrew tradition. Thank you for sharing this!

  3. After I originally commented I clicked the -Notify me when new comments are added- checkbox and now every time a remark is added I get four emails with the identical comment. Is there any way you’ll be able to remove me from that service? Thanks!

Leave a Reply

