What’s the password?


As you may know by now, unless you’ve been hiding in a cave on the border between Pakistan and Afghanistan the past five months, I work for the city of Marietta’s public information office. I love working for them but one thing that really gets on my nerves is having to create a new password every 90 days.

Now I get it, they’re trying to keep all employee’s files and e-mails private and secure, so nobody can come in and hack into their accounts. I really commend and congratulate our technology department because in my line of work, I occasionally receive something by e-mail that has to remain confidential until a certain meeting or ceremony, like Marietta’s annual end-of-the-year employee service awards.

But let’s face it, I’d much rather spend my time writing news releases, updating our website and designing the city’s Friday e-newsletter than having to come up with a 25 character password just to login to our network. I just wanted to login so I can do my work, not train for an undercover, covert position with the CIA, whose job it is to gather highly confidential intelligence on the whereabouts of Al-Qaeda’s number two man!!!

Another thing that I can’t stand is when my computer freezes up at work, and I can’t get on the Internet to look for something on the city’s website, check e-mails or finish writing an article so I can take it to my supervisor so he can approve it before I post it to the Web.

I came back from lunch this afternoon after eating pizza with grilled chicken on it for lunch (pretty good, you ought to try it!! :)) and was able to logon with my new 16 character password with no problems. But then I sat there for the next three and a half hours just waiting on my computer to wake up from its coma… I was working on about three news releases and was also checking agendas for things that might be discussed at next week’s City Council meeting. I wasn’t sure if everybody was on the Internet at once and there was a lot of traffic or if there was a bad virus going around. Turns out there was a problem with one of the servers and it was getting fixed.

I know I could have done something else while I was waiting for my computer to straighten itself out, but I really didn’t have anything else that I could do. I just let the technology guys do their thing, and the problem was resolved about 3:30, I think.

By the way, what did I do with that password again? I really hope I don’t have to get a presidential pardon and an act of Congress to find it!!! I’m kidding 🙂

3 thoughts on “What’s the password?

  1. Oh Em Gee… I have to change mine at work every 3 months as well, and I swear, just when I get used to the new one it is time to change it again. GAH!!!

    Love the blog! Keep up the great work!

  2. I am one of the unlucky ones who had their info stolen from Sony. It was quite a chore to go through all of my online accounts and come up with new passwords, emails, and user names. So tiring!

    Love your blog!

  3. Hi all, important content article. Relieved I ran across it by means of Google, to bad that it was on page three of search results. It seems like your operating WordPress for your internet site, you should get this plugin for WordPress at http://myseopressor.com it has enormously helped me with my web site rankings in Google. I’d personally hate to see your useful blog post not be observed by other people. Good luck with your website.

Leave a Reply

