How Do You Find Inspiration?


I’ve been talking to a friend on Twitter for a few minutes tonight, and I’ve really been inspired by her encouragement. She and I have been friends on Twitter for a few months and everytime I read one of her emails or get a tweet from her, I am so inspired and so motivated to never give up my dreams and to give it everything I have when I am doing something.

Which brings me to the point of this post. I have a question for those of you who blog, write or have a job.

How do you draw inspiration and have the determination to never quit?

Do you have a favorite song that inspires you?

Do your friends and family provide that extra push you need to keep going?

Do your co-workers call you, email you or give you a pat on the back when you’re feeling like throwing in the proverbial towel?

In short, how do you find inspiration in your hectic, daily routines of school, work and family?

3 thoughts on “How Do You Find Inspiration?

  1. How do you draw inspiration and have the determination to never quit?

    Do you have a favorite song that inspires you? Any Queen, Pink or Stevie Wonder song always inspires me.

    Do your friends and family provide that extra push you need to keep going? Not really, I guess the only people who do are a few close online friends, my other half and my mother. I usually keep to myself so people don’t realize when I need some encouragement.

    Do your co-workers call you, email you or give you a pat on the back when you’re feeling like throwing in the proverbial towel? As I don’t work, I’ll replace co-workers with friends. Again I don’t really tell people when I feel that way unless someone knows that I feel upset or useless, then they try to make me feel better.

    In short, how do you find inspiration in your hectic, daily routines of school, work and family? Watching tv, reading autobiographies, talking to people online and watching videos online, movies and so forth.

    • I’m really shy too Abby, so I know what you are saying… my family, friends and co-workers inspire more than I ever dreamed, but I get more inspiration from the public than I could ever give them. I like watching TV and reading too, but find that some of the stuff on the TV today is depressing, not inspiring. I love music and get a LOT of inspiration from the lyrics of country music, especially Garth Brooks, Carrie Underwood and Lady Antebellum.

      I keep to myself at work, and it’s really hard to tell how I’m feeling. My best friend, also a very dear co-worker, can usually tell if something is bothering me though. I’ve often felt useless, but never as much as right now. My grandfather has Alzheimer’s and it’s heartbreaking knowing I can not do anything to help him.

      Thank you for your inspiration. You are amazing Abby!!!

  2. How do you draw inspiration and have the determination to never quit? My daughter never quits, despite tremendous obstacles. I can’t do anything less.

    Do you have a favorite song that inspires you? Not exactly, but the Christina Aguilera remix version of the song “Reflection” from Disney’s “Mulan” is my go-to song on a long marathon training run. It’s the background song I chose for the video of Sarah Kate’s progression to learning to walk, and the line “When will my reflection show who I am inside?” is a poignant reminder to me that we all have a person behind the mask that the world sees.

    Do your friends and family provide that extra push you need to keep going? Some of them do. My husband, mom, sister, and a handful of friends love and support me and everyone else…well, I don’t have to have them.

    Do your co-workers call you, email you or give you a pat on the back when you’re feeling like throwing in the proverbial towel? I don’t have co-workers. 🙂

    In short, how do you find inspiration in your hectic, daily routines of school, work and family? It’s all around me – my son’s smile, my daughter’s sense of humor, my dog’s insistence on snuggling with me any time I am still. 🙂

Leave a Reply

