To All My Doubters, I’d Like to Say “Thank You”


In an earlier post, I said that I really wanted to be a writer at a local newspaper in the Atlanta area after I graduated from Kennesaw State University, about 30 minutes north of Atlanta. Long story short, I sent in a couple dozen résumés to papers all around the Cartersville, Marietta, Kennesaw, Acworth and Atlanta area and heard back from maybe six total, and they all wanted from three to five years of experience. I got really frustrated and even a little depressed because it seemed like nobody would hire me and give me a chance. Thankfully, the city of Marietta took a chance on me in June 2007 and I have been working in their public information office ever since, writing news releases and taking pictures for our website.

Photo courtesy starpulse.com

You know how you’ll hear a song, and it strikes a chord or hits a nerve and stays with you forever because it comes in handy in a situation (or in my case several)? Well, I’ve never, EVER been a fan of Taylor Swift, but I was driving home in my van this afternoon and heard her new song “Mean” on the radio. I don’t know what happened but I felt this wave of revenge (or in Barney Fife’s case REVENG) come over me… I suddenly remembered the disappointment I felt when I got rejected by the newspapers.

So…. I would personally like to dedicate Taylor’s new song “Mean” to all the newspapers who turned me down and those I never even heard from, who are missing out on something I’d like to think is pretty special!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

