Shooting For the Stars


I have always dreamed of being a singer ever since I was a little girl, but for some reason I never had the confidence to embark on that journey until my dad passed away a few years ago. I wrote a song called “Mental Break Down,” and I knew no one could sing it but me. That made me a bit nervous to break out of my shell because before my involvement in my singing career, I was an instrumentalist for several years. I had already gained a fan following, and I was afraid I would lose them if I changed things up and started singing. The other challenge was to gain enough confidence to sing. Well, here I am today singing to my heart’s content. My fans accepted the change, and I have been hooked ever since then. I don’t think I decided to be a singer, I think the singer decided to pick me.

I get most of my inspiration from life and people. If you’re thinking about starting a singing career, remember to always stay true to yourself and your heart. Stay true to your music and who you are in your music. Stick to your goals and reach for the stars. Be willing to work hard for what you want and never give up.

Becoming a singer has benefitted me in so many ways, personally and professionally. Personally, it has allowed me to gain the “confidence” piece that I think I was missing: music. I have filled the vacant spot in my heart and built my dreams upon it. This has helped me professionally, too. I am not afraid to approach people and say, “Hey, check out my music. If you like it, great, and if you don’t, I am okay with that, too.”

I don’t think I have had too many obstacles, but if I were to think of one obstacle I guess it would be… being different. I have never been the type who wanted to stick out in a crowd. I wanted to blend in but for some reason that has never been the case for me. I am really not sure why but that same theory has followed me through my singing career as well. When the reviews come in about my music I always see the words: different, refreshing and unique. At first I had a hard time with that. I wanted to sound like the others, those were the artists getting the record deals. It wasn’t until one day that I said, “You need to take these words and embrace them, make them your own.” After I figured out, I began to grow even more. I grew into my own type of singer. I am very comfortable in my own skin now, and it’s a good thing.

It seems like I am always inspired by people to write a song or two. It’s funny, not only have I become a singer but I have become a songwriter, too. Not all singers are songwriters and visa-versa but for some reason I have felt compelled to do both. It started out as a challenge because along with song writing, “I thought” I would write about myself all the time. How many songs could I possibly write about myself and how much of myself did I want to let the world know about me? This was something I never thought about, and it was a bit scary. Then one day I was watching a show about drug abuse, which inspired a song. I wrote another song about Japan and the terrible, earth-shattering thing that happen to them. I realized these songs don’t have to be about me, but what I feel within my heart, and that is what inspires me.

My close family members have accepted the fact I am a singer, and a lot of them have expressed their excitement for me. I think some of my distant family members still don’t know, but I am sure they would accept it and probably be quite surprised.

My dad really never got the chance to see me sing, but he is in my heart, and I am sure he is looking down from the heavens above, saying, “See, I knew you could do it.” He is really the one who inspired me. When my dad and I used to sing karaoke, he would always say, “You have a beautiful voice.” When he became ill, I would pick up the mic and ask my dad, “Do you want me to sing to you?” He never objected. To this day, my mother is my number one fan. She supports me in every way.

I have to say I have been pretty lucky, the music business has been pretty good to me. Maybe it’s because I was already establishing a foundation before my singing career. What I have noticed through my experiences with record labels and executives is that you have to take every offer with a grain of salt and move forward. I have had some good offers and bad offers. When I first started getting offers, I was floating on cloud nine only to find out that I would have to pay for some service or something like that. Now that I know all this, I let the offers come in, follow up on them and move on. This really seems to work for me. I am not saying I don’t get excited about offers because I do, but I don’t shoot right up to cloud nine either.

Make sure you check me out on my personal website and I-Tunes

About T Dawn

T Dawn – singer/songwriter/musician. She grew up around music all her life. In 2003 she was primarily known for her beautiful instrumental pieces, one of which, “Beautiful Birds,” was successfully signed to a label and distributed to a CD. In 2009, T Dawn’s musical career took a turn. Her father passed away and she wrote a song about his journey through life. This was out of her normal scope to sit down and write a song but she felt it was needed. She thought, “Who was going to sing it?” Mind you, she was not a singer at the time but didn’t feel it would be right for anyone else to sing this song. T Dawn stepped out of her comfort zone and the transformation began!

In late 2009, she wrote a song called, “Mental Break Down,” which was her first vocal track. She was a bit worried that her already growing fan base might not know what to make of this new change. T Dawn decided she had to move forward with her song. She surprised herself and her fans with this new song. They welcomed her new found love. Many fans opened up to her and told her about their experiences that related to that song. She became even closer to her fans, which she calls “Starlights.”

Creative, talented and full of life, T Dawn has found her niche. Her career has sky rocketed to new levels. She has been involved in many projects with other artists, one of which was with Owen Critchley, who has worked with such artists as the Black Eyed Peas. Her music can be found on several compilation albums, the Internet and starting to debut on local radio stations.

3 thoughts on “Shooting For the Stars

Leave a Reply

