His name was Fleming


Who would have guessed this was how a wonderful life-saving drug was discovered? Certainly not me. You know I always wondered how Winston Churchill and Alexander Fleming got their starts…

His name was Fleming, and he was a poor Scottish farmer. One day, while trying to eke out a living for his family, he heard a cry for help coming from a nearby boy. He dropped his tools and ran to the boy. There, mired to his waist in black muck, was a terrified boy, screaming and struggling to free himself. Farmer Fleming saved the lad from what could have been a slow and terrifying death.

The next day, a carriage pulled up to the Scotsman’s sparse surroundings. An elegantly dressed nobleman stepped out and introduced himself as the father of the boy Farmer Fleming had saved. “I want to repay you,” said the nobleman. “You saved my son’s life.” “No, I can’t accept payment for what I did,” the Scottish farmer replied, waving off the offer.

At that moment, the farmer’s own son came to the door of the family’s cottage. “Is that your son?” the nobleman asked. “Yes,” the farmer replied proudly. “I’ll make you a deal. Let me take him and give him a good education. If the lad is anything like his father, he’ll grow to a man you can be proud of.” And that he did.

In time, Farmer Fleming’s son graduated from St. Mary’s Hospital Medical School in London, and went on to become known throughout the world as the noted Sir Alexander Fleming, the discoverer of penicillin.

Years afterward, the nobleman’s son was stricken with pneumonia. What saved him? Penicillin.

The name of the nobleman? Lord Randolph Churchill. His son’s name? Sir Winston Churchill.

Someone once said, “What goes around comes around.”

Author Unknown

14 thoughts on “His name was Fleming

  1. Pingback: Laser Teeth Whitening For One Person | 4 Real Cheap

  2. I really hope other visitors think your article here as useful as I have. I operate a website by myself and would be more than happy for you or the guests on your own website to visit. Please go ahead and search through my website like I have with yours and post a comment or two if you find anything interesting. Thank you.

  3. Can I simply say what a reduction to find somebody who really knows what theyre speaking about on the internet. You undoubtedly know find out how to deliver a problem to light and make it important. Extra people must read this and perceive this side of the story. I cant consider youre no more popular because you definitely have the gift.

  4. Pretty nice post. I just stumbled upon your weblog and wished to say that I’ve truly enjoyed browsing your blog posts. In any case I will be subscribing to your feed and I hope you write again soon!

  5. Good post. I learn something tougher on completely different blogs everyday. It will all the time be stimulating to read content material from other writers and apply a bit something from their store. I?d prefer to make use of some with the content on my weblog whether or not you don?t mind. Natually I?ll give you a link on your web blog. Thanks for sharing.

  6. After examine a couple of of the weblog posts on your website now, and I truly like your means of blogging. I bookmarked it to my bookmark website listing and will likely be checking back soon. Pls try my web site as nicely and let me know what you think.

  7. Aw, this was a really nice post. In thought I want to put in writing like this moreover ? taking time and actual effort to make a very good article? but what can I say? I procrastinate alot and certainly not appear to get something done.

  8. Can I just say what a reduction to search out somebody who truly is aware of what theyre speaking about on the internet. You positively know learn how to bring an issue to light and make it important. Extra people have to learn this and understand this aspect of the story. I cant imagine youre no more widespread since you definitely have the gift.

Leave a Reply

