Jason’s Twelve Days of Christmas


On the first day of Christmas, Jesus gave to me a big book full of His promises.

On the second day of Christmas, Jesus gave to me two loving parents and a big book full of his promises.

On the third day of Christmas, Jesus gave to me three amazing families, two loving parents and a big book full of His promises.

On the fourth day of Christmas, Jesus gave to me four years at a wonderful job, three amazing families, two loving parents and a big book full of His promises.

On the fifth day of Christmas, Jesus gave to me FIVE minutes of prayer, four years at a wonderful job, three amazing families, two loving parents and a big book full of His promises.

On the sixth day of Christmas, Jesus gave to me six years of knowledge, FIVE minutes of prayer, four years at a wonderful job, three amazing families, two loving parents and a big book full of His promises.

On the seventh day of Christmas, Jesus gave to me seven reasons to despise Tennessee, six years of knowledge, FIVE minutes of prayer, four years at a wonderful job, three amazing families, two loving parents and a big book full of His promises.

On the eighth day of Christmas, Jesus gave to me eight hours of peaceful sleep, seven reasons to despise Tennessee, six years of knowledge, FIVE minutes of prayer, four years at a wonderful job, three amazing families, two loving parents and a big book full of His promises.

On the ninth day of Christmas, Jesus gave to me nine faces of Spurrier, eight hours of peaceful sleep, seven reasons to despise Tennessee, six years of knowledge, FIVE minutes of prayer, four years at a wonderful job, three amazing families, two loving parents and a big book full of His promises.

On the tenth day of Christmas, Jesus gave to me ten straight Bulldog wins, nine faces of Spurrier, eight hours of peaceful sleep, seven reasons to despise Tennessee, six years of knowledge, FIVE minutes of prayer, four years at a wonderful job, three amazing families, two loving parents and a big book full of His promises.

On the eleventh day of Christmas, Jesus gave to me 11 years under Coach Richt, ten straight Bulldog wins, nine faces of Spurrier, eight hours of peaceful sleep, seven reasons to despise Tennessee, six years of knowledge, FIVE minutes of prayer, four years at a wonderful job, three amazing families, two loving parents and a big book full of His promises.

On the twelfth day of Christmas, Jesus gave to me 12 great Munson calls, 11 years under Coach Richt, ten straight Bulldog wins, eight hours of peaceful sleep, seven reasons to despise Tennessee, six years of knowledge, FIVE minutes of prayer, four years at a wonderful job, three amazing families, two loving parents and a big book full of His promises.

As we come to the close of yet another year, I can’t help but look back on my life and praise GOD for everything He has given me: a loving family; two amazing parents who have been there for me through a lot of bad times and a lot of great times; two beautiful sisters who (although we’ve had our fights) have always been there for me when things got tough; the BEST job in the world with the city of Marietta, with co-workers who’ve become my second family; a social life the past four years I never, EVER expected, especially my roles as Venue Coordinator and “resident photographer,” and being named one of the co-organizers of Cobb Social Media along with Kristina McInerny and Su Berland; and the confidence and self-esteem to come out of my shell and talk to members of the community about my job and my disability.

You see, I used to be very shy, probably because I created an imaginary bubble, or rather my parents kept me in one, when I was younger because I’m disabled and they wanted to protect me and make sure I was safe. Sure I had friends at school, but home and school were the only “worlds” I knew for about 13 years. It wasn’t until I graduated high school that I realized there was a whole new world outside the “friendly confines” of a brick school building or a two-story house.

Now, whenever I go out in public, it seems like at least two people come up to me every day and say hello, if I’m in a restaurant eating or in the community taking pictures for my job, and what starts as a simple hello turns into a 10- or 15-minute conversation and before I realize it, it’s time to get back to work. My supervisor keeps telling me that the experience I receive with the city doesn’t compare with the experience I’d get sitting behind a desk at a newspaper, just covering a certain beat, and looking back I can now say he was exactly 100 percent right!! Thanks MD 🙂 I can never, ever repay you and the city for taking a chance on me and giving me this wonderful opportunity to display my talents and abilities.

But what I am most thankful for this year, if you’ve read my blog the past month, is that Jesus Christ has given me the chance to spend time with my grandfather who was diagnosed with Alzheimer’s Disease a few years ago, and the peace of mind that when my grandfather does pass away that he will live forever in Paradise with our Heavenly Father, will no longer be in any pain, and will always remember who he is, who his family is and the impact he had on many, MANY lives. I’ve learned so much from my grandfather and I will never, ever forget the great times we had together. I have to admit I have been so scared and heartbroken knowing my grandfather is dying, but it does feel amazing, resting on the promise that he is going to live in eternity with Christ, Who will always wrap my grandfather in His amazing grace, love and peace and make sure nothing ever happens to him. Thank You Lord for giving me the peace of mind to leave my grandfather in Your hands, knowing that everything is going to be okay.

As a final thought, let me leave you with my two favorite Bible verses, ones that I refer back on every time I find myself doubting my abilities, am having a bad day or am struggling with my grandfather’s condition…

Philippians 4:13: “I can do ALL things through Christ Who strengthens me.”

Romans 8:28: “And we know that all things work together for good to them that love God, to them who are called according to His purpose.”

Merry Christmas!!!

One thought on “Jason’s Twelve Days of Christmas

Leave a Reply

