Author’s Roundtable: Stacy Eaton


How long have you been writing? Has writing always been something you wanted to do?

I started writing in October 2010. Until the day I sat down to write, I had never thought about doing so. I have always been creative by nature, but had never had the urge to sit and write anything down on paper. I was working the night the idea came to me, and while I drove around on patrol all weekend, the thoughts built and built in my mind. Monday when I woke up, I sat down and started typing. I haven’t stopped.

What books or stories have you written?

Well, there are a few things going on here so let me explain. In published material I have the first two books of a paranormal/urban fantasy series done and on the market. “My Blood Runs Blue” is the first book in the series, and it was published in April 2010. “Blue Blood for Life,” the second book, was released in September 2010. I am currently working on book three and plan on ending the series with a fourth book.

While the series is paranormal and does contain vampires, something some people do not care for. I wrote this series to bring a sense of the real world into the paranormal plane. The vampires in this series work up close and personal with law enforcement. As I am a police officer by trade, I use my knowledge to take this fantasy story and bring it closer to real life with very authentic details.

I have found that not only is this intense, suspenseful, passionate story enjoyed by women, it is also very much enjoyed by men. Something I had not anticipated, and I am so very happy about.

I am also currently working on a dramatic fiction novel about domestic violence called “Whether I’ll Live or Die” that I am hoping to have out soon. A contemporary romance novel is sitting on my back burner currently begging to be finished also.

I am also currently working with another author to co-write a series about addictions.  This series starts with the title of “Blue Haze,” and is a very intense, gritty hardcore novel.  We hope to have it out later this year. The last thing I am working on is ideas for another paranormal series, but that is in concept stages only and I won’t really work on that until the “My Blood Runs Blue” series is done.

What are some of the hardest things you;ve had to overcome as a writer, in order to be published?

Finding the time to sit and write. With working a full-time job where my schedule rotates from days to nights every two weeks, to having a family, owning a business and dealing with all the other little things in life, it was hard to find the time to write, edit and then start learning how to promote my novel. People who have never published a book before have no idea the amount of time that goes into all those different aspects, especially marketing.

Is there any advice you have been given that you could give to a young up-and-coming writer?

Help others, plain and simple. When someone helps you, help someone else back. Pay it forward and always be thankful. When someone helps you or teaches you something, find someone to share that with and teach them what you learned. Life is about helping others. While it is nice to get ahead, the best way to do that is to be happy with the things you have done in life that make life for others better. 

Also, know that not everyone is going to enjoy your story. Not everyone is going to be nice. Learn to accept that and move forward. Learn from what you can learn from and don’t carry the negative stuff around. It’s not worth it.

Do you think writing has any benefits, and if so what would they be?

It gets all these crazy voices out of my head! If it didn’t I might need medical attention to try and cure me. I find that writing helps relieve some of the stress, but it also gives me great enjoyment.

Has writing made you a better person? Was there a point in your life where writing helped you deal with something, a death or a problem relationship perhaps?

I’d like to believe that I was a good person before I started writing. I work in a career that is meant to help others. It is important for me to be able to help others deal with issues, in any little way that I can. I hope that my novel on domestic violence can reach some people who might need help. If it can, then it would really have made me a better person, and them too.

Jason, thank you so much for inviting me to the “Roundtable” on your blog! I have very much enjoyed meeting you, and look forward to your friendship and sharing my thoughts and writing with your guests.

Keep up with Stacy

The busy life of Stacy Eaton

Currently she works full-time as a police officer for a small township is southeastern Pennsylvania. While her current position is that of a patrol officer, she spend a lot of time doing investigations and crime scene processing. Forensics is something she loves, and she takes her job seriously. It is not just about proving who is guilty, it is also about proving people are innocent.

She is also a wife to a police officer and with their constant schedules, life can get very hectic at home. She has been blessed with two children. Her son is currently in the United States Navy, and she is very proud of him for what he is doing and for serving his country. Her daughter is a priceless princess who loves to help market her books to teachers and other parents while she is at school and church. She is also working on a book, too.

When she is not working the job that currently pays all the bills, she works on her business. Yes, she has her own business, too.

She also has two Shiloh Shepherd dogs, Garda and Callie. They are a bit different than the standard German Shepherds most people are used to. They are larger and less aggressive, and they have more fur! Garda has a face that resembles a wolf, which makes him extra special to Stacy. (You can see by the photo that she wears a wolf pendant). Garda actually means “The Guardian” in Irish. It is also the name of the Irish Police. Rather fitting for the family of officers don’t you think?

In her spare time… she writes.

3 thoughts on “Author’s Roundtable: Stacy Eaton

    • Thank you for being my guest Stacy. It was a true honor and pleasure having you on my blog. I know we didn’t actually “sit down” and talk, but I feel as if I’ve known you for years. God bless you.

Leave a Reply

