Sustainable Education Initiative: An Introduction


I want to start this post off with a very big thank you to Jason. Thank you for the opportunity to share my family’s project with you and your readers. I love to share what we are doing and how we are doing it, which is the basis for the Sustainable Education Initiative.

The Sustainable Education Initiative is based on our goal to create a sustainable suburban homestead on a half-acre of land. We will be offering weekly videos, blog posts, photo galleries, books and more on how each and every one of us can make small changes in our lives that affect our local and global communities. Our end goal is to leave behind a legacy for not only our children and their’s but children around the world.

With the advent of technology, we no longer live in small communities; we do live in a global society. If every person makes one simple change, be it bake their own bread, buy from local sources (small businesses at the very least) or decide to recycle plastic collectively, we make the world a better place. We should all want a better world for our children and their’s to grow, live and thrive in.

We are inviting the world to watch us as we change our life from one based on corporate ideals to that of a simple life, where our needs are met by our own hand, and we actively support our community. We are a typical American family with more debt than income, and we worry from day-to-day how we are going to get through. We want to share with you how we reduce our debt and create a viable business.

The Sustainable Education Initiative uses a social capitalism model. In a nutshell, this is a business that is being created with the ideal that we will give back more into our local and global community. We will demonstrate how we create our own “jobs,” how we teach our children to do the same and how we hope that others will follow our lead. We also desire to create a few jobs along the way. Some may be paid in produce, some in cash and some in lifelong lessons that people can continue to share. One of our founding ideals is from the proverb: “You give a man a fish, and he will eat for a day. Teach him to fish, and he will eat for a life time.”

We hope that you will join and support us in this venture. I look forward to getting to know everyone.

Tammy Curry 

About Tammy Curry

I have been described as driven, artsy, genuine and earthy. I am the modern granola girl. My name is Tammy Curry, and I live on the outskirts of a quiet little town in South Carolina. This is not my native state, but if you drink the water long enough, it changes your DNA, and you become a Carolina girl. This is easiest when you have lived in both of the Carolinas.

You will find me talking passionately about my family and my life. It has taken a long time for me to figure out who I am and what my purpose is in this life. My purpose is to be an example to my children and to others in my community (physical and virtual communities) on how to happily live simply and sustainably. Together with my husband and children, we are creating a sustainable suburban homestead. Out of that is growing a movement we have titled the Sustainable Education Initiative. We are going to share via video, blogs and social media our journey to create a better world for our children, your children and other future generations via one small change at a time. Check out my blog, follow me on Twitter and be a fan of the Sustainable Education Initiative on Facebook.

I look forward to sharing our journey with you.

4 thoughts on “Sustainable Education Initiative: An Introduction

Leave a Reply

