Thankful Tuesday


Welcome to a new feature on my blog. Starting today I’ll let you into my sexy mind and give you a little taste of what I’m thankful for each day. Some days may be really inspiring and make you think… other days I may hit you with something totally off the wall, that’ll make you think, “What the hell is wrong with that guy?” Anyway, today I’d like to share why I’m thankful for my job with the city of Marietta and to be part of an amazing, ROCKING group….

I was rolling back to my desk about 10:45 this morning and thought, “I should be leaving to go to Cobb Social Media right now,” but alas I’ve still got a lot of work to do on a big project at work and was unable to make it today. This got me to thinking about how thankful I am to have a job and be working with people I respect and admire. I’m thankful for the chance the city of Marietta took on me as an intern in June 2007. I’m thankful my supervisor hasn’t hung me upside down out the fourth story window for a press release I totally goofed up. I’m thankful for the cute blonde down the hall who comes and talks to me about her daughter, who also has spina bifida. I’m thankful I have co-workers who will come help me get in my van if my lift is being a pain in the ass. I’m thankful for the guy down the hall who passes by and asks me “How ya doin?!” (picture a guy from the South saying it with a New York accent). I’m thankful my supervisor trusts me enough to leave the office in my hands for a week while he takes some much-needed time off.

I’m thankful that I’m working on about three different projects at one time because I can enhance my skills and further my knowledge of HTML and how the city of Marietta operates. I’m blessed to be able to go on location to cover a story because it means I’m not sitting behind a damn desk all day, staring at walls and listening to the clock. I’m thankful when something goes wrong with my computer because I know I have friends and co-workers who can fix the problem. Bottom line, I’m thankful to just be NEEDED!!

Not being able to attend CobbSM’s meeting today also makes me very grateful that the group meets the first Tuesday of every month, so missing one day won’t be that bad. I’m really enjoying the group so far, and cannot believe we’ve been meeting for almost a year and a half!! What started as a few people at Hemingway’s on the Square in the fall of 2010 has turned into a really popular group with more than 200 members!!

I can never thank Kristina and Su enough for trusting me enough to elect me Venue Coordinator. We’ve had to change venues a few times, either because we got too big for our britches or the customer service wasn’t up to par and we had to find somewhere else to hold our meetings. Thank you guys for trusting me, especially when things get hectic. Thanks for also allowing me to become the “resident photographer” at our meetings. Thank you for the pats on the back and the words of encouragement when I need them most. Some days can be a real struggle for me, but whenever I see Kristina, Olivia or any of my social media friends, it makes me so thankful to be alive. I’ll do my best to make you proud.

But the biggest thing I’m thankful for is the friendships I’ve made at CobbSM and with the city. I’ve made so many wonderful connections we’re almost like a second family. I am a better man because of my co-workers and friends, and I will always hold you dear in my heart. Thank you for accepting me for what’s inside, and looking past my disability and faults. I know I make mistakes but thank you for letting me have a chance to correct them. Here’s to an amazing 2012!!!

Tune in next week, when I tell you why I’m thankful for a pain in the neck.

3 thoughts on “Thankful Tuesday

  1. Hey! You took a picture of the cute lady in a mini skirt and not the hula hoop lady? (That’s moi! 🙂 It was good talking to you at the MCAA Career Fair.

Leave a Reply

