Thankful Tuesday


I was getting off work this afternoon, and as I got off the elevator to go out to my van, I ran into a co-worker I haven’t seen in a few months. She saw me get off the elevator and actually held the door open for me. As we walked outside, the warm sun hitting my face on another beautiful, picture perfect Georgia day, we asked each other how work was going, and said we had a lot going on. She works on another floor and has people coming in and out of her office every day getting business licences or renewing them, and she told me that it usually picks up around this time of the month.

I mentioned to her that I’d just helped remodel our website and was having information overload because I had to read every city department’s content and make sure it was still accurate and make changes to it if I needed to. She said she loved the new site and told me what a good job I did on my part, and that really made me feel great inside because somebody appreciates the effort I show at work.

As we were standing there we got to talking about fishing, which is something I found out we both enjoy. We talked about how much we love bobber fishing and waiting on a little nibble, and how we tend to really set the hook like we got Moby Dick on the other end of the line. We shared a few fishing stories and before I knew it, 15 minutes had passed, but they were the most amazing 15 minutes I’ve had in a while.

Talking to my co-worker really made me thankful I can talk to my friends and co-workers and leave all the B.S. and stress of my job for a few minutes. I’m thankful I was able to share those few precious minutes with her and that we weren’t in a hurry with somewhere to go. We probably could’ve spent another 20 minutes talking, but I think we both wanted to beat the traffic… 🙂

Which reminds me, I sure am thankful I have two arms… stay tuned next week to know what I mean 😉

 

Leave a Reply

