Author’s Roundtable: Prudence MacLeod


How long have you been writing? Has writing always been something you wanted to do?

I’ve been writing since I learned to write (1950s) but it wasn’t until about twenty years ago it began to command so much of my time. I guess the idea of being a full time writer has always been at the back of my mind. I have to say, since I made that dream come true I am enjoying it.

What books or stories have you written?

I have written more than 30 books so far, and most are available on Amazon or Smashwords. I’d offer up a full list, but here is a website that has all of my books listed, with pictures and links.

What are some of the hardest things you’ve had to overcome as a writer, in order to be published?

Wow, well there are a number of them. First is the subject matter of many of my books. I write about lesbian love, child abuse, transgender issues, gay, etc. Not all, but most of, my romances explore these issues. Through these stories I try to show people different ways to cope and prosper even though they and their experiences are outside the norm.

It has been amusing to read some of the rejection letters I have received from publishers in the past. Eventually I gave it up as a lost cause and self-published. I have a small but steadily growing following. That tells me there is a market for this kind of work.

Is there any advice you have been given that you could give to a young up-and-coming writer?

Write something every day, even if it is just a single sentence, write every day. Read! Read and read some more. Read great books, terrible books, anything at all, but read. You will learn from each one.

You mentioned you write about lesbian love, child abuse and transgender issues. Does your writing reflect personal experiences? In what ways? Do you try to incorporate your experiences into your stories?

I don’t make a big deal out of it anymore, I just enjoy my life. I’ve been with the same woman for 16 years, and survived child abuse and 26 years of an emotionally abusive marriage. Read the intro to my book (the first 20 percnet of the book is free on Smashwords), and you will see my connection to transgender issues. I’ve volunteered with GLBT organizations, sat on the suicide hot lines and lots more, but those stories are woven into my books.

Do you think writing has any benefits, and if so what would they be?

One thing writing will do for anybody is sharpen their communication skills. The more you write and the more you read, the better you get at communicating with others. Writing is like mental telepathy; through your words you can take someone into your mind and world. That’s communication at its finest.

Has writing made you a better person? Was there a point in your life where writing helped you deal with something, a death or a problem relationship perhaps?

Yes to both questions. Writing has made me a better person, or at least a more empathetic person as I fully experience the personal journeys of all my characters. Help me deal? Of course. I always have a fantasy adventure story on the go so when someone cuts me off in traffic I can write him and kill him off horribly. This saves me from all that anger and angst on the road.

Ok, seriously, through writing I have managed to work through a lot of issues. I find it very therapeutic. There have been dark times when I might not have managed without this outlet to help me focus on the truly important things in life. Sometimes when you just need to vent until the upset runs its course, writing is the way to go. You can always delete it later, and no bridges get burned.

About Prudence MacLeod

This is where you get scared to death; I mean learn a bit about the mad writer. So, what’s my super power? I’m a storyteller, an entertainer. As you begin to read my words the stress of the day, nay, the stress of everyday begins to magically fade away. Transported into another world, your worries and troubles are forgotten for a time as you share adventures with me and my friends. My art, my power is as old as humankind, for the magic of the storyteller has ever been with us and it will always be.

I am a spiritual seeker, dog trainer, official Reiki Master, interior designer and personal trainer who has turned her hand to writing. I am also an avid chess player, not a great one, but an avid one. I build, bake, knit and tell stories.

I have roamed far and wide for more than 60 years in this realm, and I have seen much; some I wish I had not, and a great deal that I would love to see again. Some days I feel like Bilbo Baggins, for I have been there and come back again. No, I haven’t written a book about my wanderings, but much that I have experienced, observed, learned, surmised or imagined is woven into the tales I have written. I do hope you enjoy them.

Check out Prudence’s blog, be her friend on Facebook, read previews of her books on Smashwords and buy her books on Amazon. Check out her new book and buy it here.

Leave a Reply

