Backstage with Destiny Durr


I’m sure most of you will agree with me that music plays a vital role in our lives. It can make us feel emotions we never knew existed, help get us over a death, breakup or hard time. It can make us crank up the radio, roll the windows down and let the wind blow through our hair, like we didn’t have a care in the world. Tonight I bring you the inspiring story of Destiny Durr, who explains how she overcame rejection and hate, and how her family inspired her to never give up on her dreams.

How did your interest in music get started? Did you sing in church when you were younger? Did your family sing or play instruments?
 
I’ve come from a family of performers, so singing was just something I grew up with. I didn’t sing in church when I was younger, but I did sing at talent shows and such. I’ve always wanted to be a singer, it’s just taken me a while to finally start my career because I was so afraid of hate.

Can you talk a little bit more about who have been your biggest inspirations, either other artists or your family? What lessons did they instill in you that you will carry with you on your singing career?

My family plays a big role in being my inspirations. They’re always there for me and they’re my biggest supporters! Demi Lovato is also one of my inspirations. I can’t even begin to profess how much I love her. They’ve all taught me to believe in myself and always stay strong.

Why were you so afraid of hate? How did you overcome this fear and decide to finally start your singing career?
 
I’ve always been afraid of what others thought about me, and I always tried to impress others. But now, I’ve learned to be myself and if someone can’t accept that, oh well. I overcame it by finally believing in myself, that I can achieve anything, so I did my first cover, and I’m so happy I did!

Can you talk a little about your family and how they inspired you? You mentioned you come from a family of singers. Can you talk a little bit more about how they’ve inspired you, since they’re singers?

My family helps me with my voice control, and they also critique me to make me better. They just help me out with what I need when it comes to singing.

Have you recorded any albums? How many have you released?
 
I haven’t gotten to record any albums yet, but hopefully in the near future I can start on that!

Can you talk a little bit about how your journey began and how it’s led you to where you are today?

In December 2011, I entered a singing contest called Teen Hoot and put a video of me singing on YouTube. After that video, people starting asking for more songs and covers, so I’ve just been going with the flow. I’m very pleased at how far I’ve come since December.

As an artist, what are some of the things you’ve been able to do? (i.e. sing National Anthem at ball games, open for other artists, go on tour…)
 
So far, I’ve just been doing covers. I’ve sang at talent shows and such. I’m just waiting for an opportunity to sing somewhere big!

Have you met any other artists? Who’d you meet and what was the experience like?
 
I’ve been very fortunate to meet a lot of great artists! There’s too many to name, but my favorite was Adam Levine from Maroon 5. He was very sweet. And of course, my idol Demi Lovato. I could not stop crying!

What advice did they give you? If you could give an aspiring artist advice about the music industry, what would it be?
 
Just to stay humble, and stay strong. You’re always going to have people hating on you. You just need to have the mentality to believe that you’re better than what they say.

Did you have to overcome rejection while making the climb to the studio? Did they make you a stronger person? In what ways?

I have been rejected multiple times, but what doesn’t kill you makes you stronger. If I’ve learned anything from this industry, it is to never give up.

If you could pick one instance when you were rejected, how did that make you feel? Any lessons you could take from that rejection and tell to someone so they don’t get rejected?

The first time I was rejected was for Teen Hoot. I felt like giving up, but I decided that giving up wasn’t going to help me, so I held my head up and kept trying. My lesson would just be: if you feel like giving up, and you’re at that breaking point, don’t give up. Just believe in yourself.

I can imagine that as an artist, you’re away from home a lot. How does being on the road affect your relationship with your family?
 
I’m always home, and when I do go places my family is with me. We’re very close.

How does being an artist affect the holiday season for you? Are you able to take time off to visit family and friends? What do the holidays mean to you?

Holiday’s are my family time. My phone/computer/all communication devices are off! It’s important to have those down days.

You mentioned the holidays are important to you and that they are your down time. How important do you think the down time is for an artist?
 
For an artist, down time is very important! Their busy schedules can make them go crazy! Everyone needs a little relaxation time.

What is the best Christmas present you’ve ever received and why?

The best Christmas present I’ve ever received was my computer. That’s when I started making my videos.

If you could perform anywhere in the world with anyone in the world, who and where would it be?

If I could perform anywhere in the world, it’d be Madison Square Garden. It’s a huge dream for me, and I’m sure a lot of other artists.

About Destiny Durr

Destiny Durr is a 16-year-old singer from Houston, Tx. She started her YouTube channel on Dec. 16, 2011 and has come a long way since then! Check her out on Twitter, Facebook and YouTube.

10 thoughts on “Backstage with Destiny Durr

  1. Thank you so much for interviewing Destiny! It has meant a lot to her & her fans ! We love her so much we just try to do everything to make her happy & well noticed 🙂 This has meant so much to everyone that’s involved in her life ♥ THANK YOU

  2. Destiny is amazing! I have been her fan since 2011 and told me multiple times to never give up on my dreams! 🙂

  3. I have talked to Destiny occasionally and she is so sweet and so humble . She can make you laugh as she’s not bratty or spoiled❤ she is really sweet and really grateful for everything.

Leave a Reply

