Author’s Roundtable: Kristie Haigwood


How long have you been writing? Has writing always been something you wanted to do?

I’ve been writing for a little more than two years now. Actually no, I’ve always been an avid reader, but never really thought about writing a book. A couple of years ago I had this idea rolling around in my head. It wouldn’t let me sleep. I was constantly thinking about it. After two weeks of obsessing over a scene of fiction, I finally gave in and sat down at the computer. It was rough, really, really rough, but I kept writing. I tried to get it published, but couldn’t get an agent to even look at it. So, I started the second book in the series, and when I finshed that I started the third. I only got about halfway through the third when a totally different book popped into my head, leaving me no choice but to put my third book on hold and starting my fourth book. My fourth book was “Save My Soul,” my first published, and it only took me 21 days to write it. A week after finishing that one I started “Forbidden Touch,” another stand-alone, which was recently published on June 21. I have another novel about halfway finished and, of course, my series that I started with to finish as well. I love to write.

What books or stories have you written? Published? Can you tell us a little about your books? What are they about?

I will be the first to tell you that I am horrible at summarizing. It is nearly impossible for me to just sit down and tell you what they are about; you would get some very brief and less than satisfying answers. But, I would like to share the blurbs to the books, if that’s okay.

Save My Soul

Kendra Larkin had everything going in the right direction. Her life was seemingly perfect, and she wouldn’t have changed a thing about it. Unfortunately, the course of her life was about to be forever altered. A tragic rappelling accident lands her on Dr. Adam Chamberlain’s operating table.

She agrees to a deal proposed by a guardian angel to help save the soul of the man who is both her doctor and soulmate. If she is successful, she gets to keep her life. However, she later learns that it isn’t just her life that’s in jeopardy, but her soul as well.

Even with the help of her handsome guardian angel, Rhyan, it seems there is no happy ending in sight. Torn between her newly discovered love of Rhyan and the undeniable attraction she has for Adam, Kendra finds herself at a crossroad. With Adam’s steadfast rejection of God and his guardian demon conspiring against her, she fears her soul may already be lost.

Will she find a way to overcome the evil her life is suddenly burdened with? Or will Adam’s guardian demon win both their souls and make Kendra his own personal puppet in Hell?

Forbidden Touch

Ciera has to break the ultimate vampire law to save Mitch, her mortal soulmate, from a terrible fate. Dane, the vampire who would do anything to win her affection, is responsible for Mitch being framed for murder. A fast chain of events is set in motion, which leads to the soulmates being torn apart and Ciera to lose her heart to the one person she has always despised, Dane. She finds herself completely in love with both men. But a rogue vampire puts them all in grave danger. Can she keep them both? Or will she have to accept one lover’s sacrifice to save the other?

“Forbidden Touch” is not the sequel to “Save My Soul,” although there will be one someday.

How did you get inspiration for the characters?

I don’t get inspiration for my characters, they find me. I literally have 47 voices in my head fighting each other to be the next one I write about. No, I’m not crazy. I just have some very special friends.

Are the books based on personal experiences?

Never my personal experiences, but my character’s personal experiences, yes.

Is there any advice you have been given that you could give to a young up-and-coming writer?

Get your work professionally edited!!

Can you talk a little about the benefits of getting your work professionally edited?

Studies have shown that it is very hard for a writer to edit their own work because they are re-reading what their mind told them to write in the first place, so they hardly see what is wrong. Everyone needs at least another set of eyes to look at the writing. Whether it be an editor, proofreader or beta reader. Get it done. You will be sorry if you don’t.

What is the hardest part about finding a professional editor?

It’s not hard at all to find a professional editor. If you have any friends at all on Twitter or Facebook, usually asking a friend who has self-published is all you have to do. There are literally hundreds of editors, proofreaders and beta readers who are very affordable and can help you with what you need.

What are some of the hardest things you’ve had to overcome as a writer, in order to be published?

Finding more time in a day to get everything accomplished.

How do you find enough time in the day to write?

Every spare minute I have I’m at my computer, and when I’m not, I’m thinking about what I’m going to write once I do get to sit down. Usually I make a schedule of the things (non-writing related) that I have to do. I do those as quickly as possible, then I have my writing time.

How did you find time to write your books?

I didn’t have a choice. My characters are evil. LOL. I am a mother, a wife, have a full time job and have two dogs, but when you love something as much as I love writing, you fnd time to follow your dreams.

Do you set aside a special time to write?

No, I write when I can, and I set aside special times to do everything else. My life revolves around my writing, not the other way around.

Do you think writing has any benefits, and if so what would they be?

Yes! Writing relaxes me. If I get stressed about something, all I have to do is sit down at my computer and let myself fall into my alternate reality, fiction.

Can you talk a little about how writing relaxes you? Any specific examples you can share?

Well, it just helps me relax. If I’m in a bad mood for some reason, I can take it out on my characters. If you’ve ever heard the expression, “Don’t piss me off or I will put you in a book and kill you,” that is exactly how writers get rid of their everyday frustrations. If someone upsets me, then I may have one of my characters be upset and lash out at another character. It just works, and the readers love it.

Has writing made you a better person? Was there a point in your life where writing helped you deal with something, a death or a problem relationship perhaps?

Yes, I suppose writing helps me vent without actually walking out into the street and screaming.

Do you like to read? If so, what are your favorite genres and why?

I love to read. It isn’t possible to be a good writer if you don’t like to read. I love paranormal suspense romance (that’s what I write). I also like romance, mystery and suspense.

Can you talk about how important reviews are to writers? What kinds of information do reviews offer authors like yourself? Have you ever received a bad review? If so how did it make you feel?

Oh, good question, and one of my favorite things to talk about. Reviews are very important to authors, especially independent authors like myself. In terms of giving reviews, I give honest reviews, but I will be the first to tell you that I don’t like everything I read. Nobody does. If I can’t give someone at least four stars, I won’t post it at all, but I will send them a private email telling them what errors I found, so maybe they can change them if they are grammar or punctuation related. Usually if it is the story I don’t like, I won’t even read past the fifth chapter. As far as getting reviews, I imagine it’s quite comical to other people when I realize I’ve received a five-star review. I do the “five-star dance.” And I’ve done that dance 32 times since I published “Save My Soul” March 16, three months ago. The bad reviews don’t bother me, especially when I have a lot of good reviews. I’m aware that not everyone will share my interests, and I have a two- and a three-star review to prove it. Truth be known, a few bad reviews mixed in with a bunch of good reviews will actually boost sales. Think about it. I have 32 five-star, seven four-star, one three-star and one two-star reviews. If it was me looking at a different author with those same ratings, I’d want to read the book just to see what the problem was with the two-star reviewer. That’s just my opinion. My sales haven’t suffered because of it.

Check out Kristie’s blog, author page on Amazon, “Forbidden Touch” Facebook page, “Save My Soul” Facebook page and author Facebook page.

5 thoughts on “Author’s Roundtable: Kristie Haigwood

Leave a Reply

