Author’s Roundtable: David P. Perlmutter


How long have you been writing? Has writing always been something you wanted to do?

Well its odd really. I’ve never written a book but people said that I should write about an event that happen to me, so I did.

What books or stories have you written? Published? Can you tell us a little about your books? What are they about?

I have only written one. It’s a true story, and is published on Amazon, Smashwords and Lulu. It will be in print very soon.

How did you get inspiration for the characters?

As I have said my story is a true story, and the main character is me, David P Perlmutter.

Are the books based on personal experiences?

Yes, a very harrowing story.

Is there any advice you have been given that you could give to a young up-and-coming writer?

My editor gave me advice. Just write. Tell your story and it will flow.

Can you talk a little about the benefits of getting your work professionally edited?

My editor is my best friend, so it was easy to obtain a editor.

What is the hardest part about finding a professional editor?

There wasn’t. She was my best friend, Elaine Denning.

What are some of the hardest things you’ve had to overcome as a writer, in order to be published?

To be honest, none.

How do you find enough time in the day to write?

I am starting my second book, but I do have a day job, so I write in the evening and on the weekends.

How did you find time to write your books?

As I said I write during the evenings and on weekends.

Do you set aside a special time to write?

Nope. I walk to work. The sea is on my right-hand side, and I think of a story or part of it and write it down.

Do you think writing has any benefits, and if so what would they be?

My life is my story, like everyone else’s, but yes I do. Putting words on paper can catch that moment.

Can you talk a little about how writing relaxes you? Any specific examples you can share?

I come home from a hard day’s work in sales and marketing, and writing relaxes me.

Has writing made you a better person? Was there a point in your life where writing helped you deal with something, a death or a problem relationship perhaps?

Writing is new to me, and putting my book, “Wrong Place Wrong Time,” on paper has helped me over come this harrowing moment in my life. It still lives with me.

Do you like to read? If so, what are your favorite genres and why?

I love to read, crime, adventure and romance.

Can you talk about how important reviews are to writers? What kinds of information do reviews offer authors like yourself? Have you ever received a bad review? If so how did it make you feel?

My book, “Wrong Place Wrong Time,” has only been published for two weeks. I’ve had nice reviews, not bad ones as of yet. If I do, well, everyone has their taste.

Is there anything I forgot to ask that you’d like to mention?

Only that my book is based on a true story, and I am not a writer. This story is my first attempt of writing, and I hope whoever reads it enjoys it.

About David P. Perlmutter

David P. Perlmutter was born 47 years ago just outside London and now lives in Portugal. This book is his first piece of writing. He was encouraged by his family and friend/editor to put pen to paper/fingers to laptop and write. It is based on a true story that happened in the early 90s. Check out David’s blog, follow him on Twitter, be his friend on Facebook, check out his books on Amazon USA, Amazon UK, Smashwords and Lulu, and watch his trailers on YouTube.

2 thoughts on “Author’s Roundtable: David P. Perlmutter

Leave a Reply

