Wasted Talent?


If you’re anything like me, and follow the sports blogs in the South, you’ve probably heard that the Georgia Bulldogs dismissed running back Isaiah Crowell after he was arrested for having a concealed weapon in his car in a school zone. As soon as I heard about the story, Thursday I think, boy my face was redder than the uniforms the players wear on gameday.

How the hell can anybody be so unbelievably stupid and careless? And as for Crowell saying he didn’t know the gun was in the car… hello, word is it’s your mom’s car. Sure you knew it was in there. I mean, common sense would have told me to at least check to make sure it wasn’t before I went out partying with the guys.

And why the hell were they out at 2:30 in the morning anyway? I thought college players had a curfew? I tell you what this kind of crap really burns me up. I was texting a friend my mom works with about it, and told her if I was Coach Mark Richt, I’d kick him off the team (which, by the way is what happened). How can anybody with so much ahead of them, a college degree, probably a good paying job and a full life waiting for him after graduation, throw EVERYTHING down the damn toilet and risk everything just because they’re so stupid and think the rules don’t apply to them?

Of course the rules apply to you. Now I don’t know what the future will hold for Isaiah, but I hope somebody, whether it be a parent, teacher, mentor or former coach takes him aside and kicks some common sense into his ass before it’s too late. I just hope it’s not too late for Georgia to save their season before it starts.

I know I’ve said this before but it bears repeating. I graduated college in December 2006, and receiving my degree was one of the proudest, most amazing moments in my life. I’ve got a part-time job, wonderful friends, an amazing family and the life some people can probably only dream of. I sure hate to think what would’ve happened if I’d thrown it all down the drain by going out drinking, doing drugs or fooling around with weapons. I do know one thing for certain, though. I would’ve let my family, friends and myself down and would have had the worst ass whipping ever if I was caught. But the one thing that sticks in my mind and makes me grateful I made the right decisions is that I would have let the one person down who means the WORLD to me, and I will be damned if I ever let that happen. Who’s that person? He is the One Who has always been there for me to lead me beside the still waters and directs me down the paths of righteousness: my Lord and Savior, Jesus Christ.

Leave a comment