Re-Post: No Parking Zone


Editor’s Note: I tweaked a few things time wise to make the post timely this time around. Aside from that, the post is the same as originally posted.

Last night, my mom and I met my dad and two sisters at Chili’s on their way home from visiting relatives in Florida. Mom and I got there before they did, and we pulled in a van-accessible handicapped parking space. She asked me if I had enough room to get out, and I said, “Yes, as long as nobody parks beside me and straddles the lines.” By “the lines,” I meant the striped off area where people in wheelchairs can let their lift down and get out of their vehicle safely.

Well, sure enough, while we were eating, this guy who was a little overweight came in and sat down at the bar (no offense intended, trust me, but you know……….). When we got ready to leave, I rolled outside and was getting ready to open my lift and guess what? Some dumb ass had parked WAY across the lines, and I didn’t have room to get in my van, much less let the lift down. I probably would’ve scraped the side of his Chevy Suburban, and you know what, I should have just to teach his ignorant ass a lesson he won’t soon forget. Mom and dad went inside to have the person come move, and you’ll never believe who it was. The guy who came in and sat at the bar.

Hell, park in Target’s parking lot and walk your ass to Chili’s if you want a damn beer so bad. A little exercise never hurt anybody, believe me. I’ve had my share of exercise thanks to dumb ignorant people who can’t show a little compassion and respect for those of us who need the handicapped parking spaces.

As I was getting dressed this morning, I remembered this post I wrote several months ago and thought I’d publish it again just in case somebody needs a whack upside their head. Hope you enjoy it, and if you have a child in a wheelchair, I’d love to hear your thoughts on this. Am I wrong to be mad as hell at this guy for parking crooked? Or do I have a valid point in stating my case and making people realize people in wheelchairs have feelings and needs, too?

Growing up, one of the biggest dreams I had was getting my driver’s license, so I could drive myself wherever I need to go and wouldn’t have to rely solely on my parents to take me everywhere. Not taking anything away from my parents, but as you can imagine, having your dad drive you to college or work, picking you up, sitting you in your wheelchair and telling you goodbye can kind of be embarrassing. Fortunately I have THE greatest parents in the world who let me have the freedom to drive myself wherever I need to go, whether it’s to work, the store or to get something to eat if I’m hungry.

Before I go any further, there have been a few times I have had to get my dad to take me to work, because my van was in the shop getting work done to the lift or a tune up. I can never repay him for always being there for me, making sure I’m not late for work, making sure my van is running okay and that my lift is working. Thank you dad!!! 🙂

Ok, good that little detour is over with, now I can get back to the topic at hand. I’ve been driving for about 10 years and whenever I am out, I am always watching for parking violators or other things that prevent me from getting into or out of my van.

I remember about 10 or 15 years ago my family and I were going to Tennessee, and we stopped at a K-Mart by the interstate so we could stretch our legs. Which is amazing isn’t it? Mom, dad and my sisters get out to stretch THEIR legs, and here I am, can’t even stand up… but I’m not complaining one bit, because I know God put me on this Earth for a purpose and to bless people with my amazing story of courage and hope.

Anyway, when we got out of K-Mart and got ready to get back in the van, I couldn’t because someone parked in the “Expectant Mother” parking spot, right where I needed to let my lift down. Dad was furious, got the license plate number and went back in and had the driver paged to come move their car. When they came out and saw me sitting there, they had this look of pity on their face, like “Oh, I’m sorry.” Dad told them that only expectant mothers could park there, and the woman said, “Oh that’s not a law,” got in her car and drove off. I can’t tell you how mad we were, especially my dad. It just breaks my heart knowing that people don’t even care about people who NEED these spots.

I remember another time I was getting out of class and got ready to get in my van, and basically the same thing happened. Someone parked in the loading zone, right next to my lift, and I had to wait until they came back out. I saw them getting out and told them to move, and they just blew me off and said, “I’ll just be a minute.” When they came back out, I opened my lift RIGHT in front of them, so they could SEE how utterly STUPID they were to park there. If it’d been raining, I would have been soaked to the skin and had to drive an hour home in wet clothes.

And last year, I went down to the farmers market and parked on the Square, in a handicapped spot… Marietta’s Public Works Department restriped the parking on the Square about a month or so ago and added a couple extra parking spaces for handicapped drivers, but they put the lines for the loading/unloading zone on the wrong side. I had to slide over so I had enough room to let my lift down and get out. Well, when I got ready to leave, I got to my van and saw somebody parked two feet from me, which hardly left me enough room to roll between us and unlock my doors…

I called my dad and told him what happened, and he had to come down and move my van so I could get in… Let’s just say that when he got there, both he and I were NOT in a GOOD MOOD, and all because somebody wasn’t using good judgement… Now I have to be fair, the other vehicle had a handicapped permit in their dash, but come on, use a little COMMON SENSE people. If you saw a van parked the way I was, wouldn’t you eventually think, “Oh, that person must have a lift they need to get out. I better park a couple spaces over so they’ll have enough room.”

You know, I just wish people would get their heads out of their butts and actually put themselves in my position one day. How the heck would you feel if you were disabled, in a wheelchair and not even be able to get in your car because some dumb idiot who cares only about themselves parked in the spot you need? PLEASE just open your eyes and get your heads out of the dang clouds and realize we are people too, who want to be a welcome part of society.

Shopping cart blocking handicapped parking space at Wal-Mart

Before I go, there’s another thing that really grinds on my nerves, and if you know someone with a disability, you can probably relate big time. I was at Wal-Mart the other day and I found a spot right in front (one of the advantages of getting there at 8 a.m. :)). As I was getting out, I looked across the aisle and saw something that almost made me blow up. Someone had apparently finished shopping, put their groceries in their car and left the shopping cart in the HANDICAPPED spot!!! Let me tell you, nothing ticks me off more than knowing people are so LAZY they can’t even walk the cart back in the store, or put them back in the little corrals that say “Return Carts Here.” It’s not going to hurt you to spend a few extra seconds to put the carts back where they belong.As I close, I hope I haven’t offended anyone by this post. I just want people to understand how frustrating and sad it is knowing people don’t even care about disabled citizens. We are part of society just as much, if not more, than everybody else is. I just want you to know how much it breaks my heart knowing people abuse the handicapped parking spaces and cause those of us who need them to have to go out of our way to park.

Let me just give you a word of warning. I’ll be watching for parking violators everywhere I go, and you never know when I’ll have a pad and pen handy to write down your tag number, make and model of your vehicle. I will make sure this crap stops immediately and that handicapped citizens have equal right to a parking space wherever they go. I am SO dang sick and tired of being looked down upon and forced to change my plans because some people can’t get their heads out of their butts and realize WE ARE PEOPLE TOO.

Leave a Reply

