Author’s Roundtable: Danielle Taylor


How long have you been writing?
As long as I can remember, really. Writing used to be a means of escape for me. Now it’s become more of a relaxation, a way to unwind after a long day of nappy changes and building couch forts.

Has writing always been something you wanted to do?

I never thought of it in terms of wanting to write. I simply did.

What books or stories have you written? Published?

Captive at Christmas

Can you tell us a little about your books? What are they about?

Captive at Christmas is about two people from completely different worlds.
Hanna Magnus is gentle and kind, owns a bookstore, and lives in Vancouver, Canada.
Mackenzie “Mac” Dunlop is an ex-military man/hired assassin who should have died in a prison in the Middle East. His past experiences hardened him into the gruff and distrusting man you meet at the beginning of the story
After a clerical mix-up, Hannah and Mac are stuck in the same remote mountain cabin for two weeks. Passion and tempers flare while they attempt to work around their captor/captive relationship.
DanielleHow did you get inspiration for the characters/books?
Mac is based on a friend I had who felt himself undeserving of love and friendship based on his career. He’s since passed on and never gave himself the chance to experience love. I suppose this is my way of showing others like him, and the rest of the world, that everyone deserves a second chance when it comes to love.

Are the books based on personal experiences?

Oh heavens no! Well, not the bad stuff, anyways. Some of the steamier scenes, perhaps 😉

Is there any advice you have been given that you could give to a young up-and-coming writer?

It’s probably been said a million times before, but that’s because it is the best advice. Write. Keep writing. Read. Keep reading. Don’t ever stop either of those. Ever.

Can you talk a little about the benefits of getting your work professionally edited?

If you can afford it, then go for it. I personally did my own editing.

What are some of the hardest things you’ve had to overcome as a writer, in order to be published?

I didn’t try to have Captive at Christmas published by an agent or a publishing house because it is fewer than 50,000 words and, therefore, classed as a novella. It was very easy to self-publish on Amazon.

Do you think writing has any benefits, and if so what would they be?

Writing is the best way to get your point across to a large audience. I do think writing has benefits, especially in a world where texts and shortened/abbreviated words are common place. The written word was slowly dying, but perhaps we’re back on the rise again.

Several of my guests have often said writing is therapeutic and relaxes them. Can you talk a little about how writing relaxes you? Any specific examples you can share?

For me, writing can be incredibly emotional, therefore most times it is the opposite of therapeutic. Especially when I’m writing about the anguish a character is suffering. I’ve been known to keep a box of Kleenex nearby for those super sad moments.
However, there are other instances where writing through a particular dark period in a characters life and having them see the light at the end of the tunnel brings me relief. Then, yes, I feel a certain therapeutic release.
Dani-001Has writing made you a better person?
I honestly don’t know. I try to be kind in general, treating others how I’d like them to treat me, and I feel I put a lot of that into my writing. I’d like to think rather that I made someone else reconsider their actions or thoughts after reading something I wrote, and helped to make them a better person.

Do you like to read? If so, what are your favorite genres and why?

I adore reading. I’ll give any genre a try, really. My favourite of course is anything with romance, be it science fiction, fantasy, horror, thrillers, action, adventure, even erotica. If I like a book, I’ll keep reading. If not, I give it some time and go back to it later, just in case

Can you talk about how important reviews are to writers?

Reviews are incredibly important. They help us to grow and to build on what our readers enjoy. When a person takes the time to offer a constructive or praise-filled review, it warms our hearts and spurs the imagination to create more stories that our readers will (hopefully) enjoy.

Have you ever received a bad review? If so how did it make you feel?

Not yet. I’m betting it will feel pretty rotten though.
I’d like to extend a great big thank you to Jason for allowing me this opportunity to speak about myself and my work!
5 thoughts on “Author’s Roundtable: Danielle Taylor

  1. Pingback: Book Review: Captive At Christmas(Captive Hearts) | The Ranting Papizilla

Leave a Reply

