Author’s Roundtable: Karen Magill


How long have you been writing?

Ever since I learned how to put words together, I have written. I come from a family of writers so it always seems to have been a part of me.

Has writing always been something you wanted to do?

I wanted to be a jockey when I was really young; a fashion model when I was in my teens but I am under 5′ 2″ and have a rounded figure; a fashion designer at one time but I don’t sew; a Playboy model but I got rejected four times; an actress but not enough to really work at it; and one of those beautiful women on the WWE. However, writing has always been there.

What books or stories have you written? Published?

I have three published novels – The Bond, A Paranormal Love Story; Mystique Rising – known as Let Us Play, A Rock ‘n’ Roll Love Story in paperback; and my latest is Missing Flowers.

Can you tell us a little about your books? What are they about?

The Bond

A woman, Laura Neill, in Vancouver is struck by a Chrysler Intrigue while crossing the street. At the same time in Toronto a car also strikes Julian Rule. Both people have an out of body experience and meet as they are floating. Their ethereal forms bond as one before separating – each taking a part of the other’s soul with them as they return to their bodies.

When the two people wake up, they remember the experience they shared and have memories of each other. The simultaneous accidents created a psychic bond. They are truly soul mates. Although Laura is haunted by visions of Julian that she cannot understand, she has decided to make dramatic changes in her life. One of them is becoming engaged to a member of England’s nobility that has recently appeared in her life. When he senses that she is in danger – a feeling that is confirmed by a psychic friend – Julian goes to Vancouver to come to her aid. With the help of a detective, Julian is able to prove that Laura’s fiancé is a con artist and a murderer. When Julian confronts the man, he and Laura are placed in imminent danger.

mystiquerisingMystique Rising/Let Us Play, A Rock ‘n’ Roll Love Story

In a bloody showdown during a Mystique concert, the government ended rock music. The members of Mystique disappeared-as many musicians before them had-without a trace.

This drives fans underground and they form the rebel group, the Let Us Play Organization. Presently Kaya More, who is the daughter of a slain LUPO founder, as well as a descendant of a member of Mystique, leads LUPO.

The gift of second sight aids Kaya as she leads the rebels from New York City to California to the Canadian Rockies. Once LUPO joins forces with other outlaws from around the world, the rebellion explodes and a showdown between the oppressors of music and fans is inevitable.

Missing Flowers

When psychic Julie Seer moves to Vancouver, her dreams are filled with visions of women being murdered. She doesn’t know who is being killed, or why, until the day Julie goes to a press conference held by the Vancouver Police Station: a press conference to announce the formation of a special task force that will investigate the case of the prostitutes who have gone missing from Vancouver’s East Side.

Detective Constable Santoro Ricci, an officer with the Vancouver Police Department, wants on the special task force. When he happens upon Julie at the press conference, Ricci finds himself unofficially investigating the case.

Julie also finds herself having visions where she is transported back in time into the body of a Chinese prostitute in the late 1800s. Through these visions, and stories told to her by long time residents of the city, Julie learns more of the history of Vancouver.

With the help of Francine, an east side prostitute, Julie and Santoro work together to solve the mystery of the missing women. When Francine and Julie are taken by the killer, Santoro must find the missing answers fast.

How did you get inspiration for the characters/books?

Inspiration comes from the world around me. With Missing Flowers which is the start of a new series, I am using Vancouver historical fact, referencing a true crime and throwing in paranormal.

Are the books based on personal experiences?

Since I write paranormal, many of the events are imagination. However, especially in Missing Flowers, I base many of the characters’ actions of events that have happened to me.

Is there any advice you have been given that you could give to a young up-and-coming writer?

The age old advice to keep writing still holds true but also get your work edited properly. And listen to all advice but follow your own heart. You may make a lot of mistakes but they will be your own.

Missing flowers cover 2LCan you talk a little about the benefits of getting your work professionally edited?

If you can find a good editor you will save yourself a lot of time. If you decide to self-publish, there is nothing more frustrating than having to pull a book from sales to re-edit it. It will also save you money in the long run because you won’t lose sales because of poor editing.

What are some of the hardest things you’ve had to overcome as a writer, in order to be published?

The regular problems I think. Finding someone who believes in your work enough to support you and then getting my books promoted and selling. When I self-publish, I have to deal with the stigma that many people still have that I self published because my books are not good enough to be published by a traditional publisher.

How did you find time to write your books?

You have to make the time whether that means less TV, less socializing, getting up earlier in the morning – if you want to write then make the time.

Do you think writing has any benefits, and if so what would they be?

Writing can release stress. For just a little while I am in control of an imaginary world. I will decide what the people do and what they look like as well as who lives and dies. It is a powerful feeling.

Several of my guests have often said writing is therapeutic and relaxes them. Can you talk a little about how writing relaxes you? Any specific examples you can share?

Writing can relax me if I don’t start worrying about promotion. Then I get blocked. But there are times I can just sit back and immerse myself in an imaginary world that no one else is part of.

cover1Can you also talk a little about how writing your book was therapeutic? What do you mean?

Writing can be therapeutic when I get to kill off the people who bug me! I will sometimes blend characteristics of certain people and make a person that I really don’t like and then I get to kill them. And I will never be held criminally responsible for it! LOL

Has writing made you a better person?

Writing is teaching me patience – slowly – and it has taught me to stick with a dream. As well, writing teaches me to be more accepting of others and to be more helpful.

Do you like to read? If so, what are your favourite genres and why?

I love reading – always have. My favourite genre is true crime, I am a big fan of Ann Rule. I get ideas for my own work from these novels. I will read most stuff though.

Can you talk about how important reviews are to writers?

I think reviews are important because it shows that people are reading my work and that will reflect on future buyers.

Have you ever received a bad review? If so how did it make you feel?

I have received a couple of bad reviews – especially on Missing Flowers. Many people don’t like the speech pattern of one of the characters. When I first read them, I was hurt that the reader didn’t seem to understand where I was going with that. Then I get angry and want to comment but I don’t. In a way, I think it is better for book sales to have a few negative reviews. It shows that other people besides friends and family are reviewing my work.

Thank you for having me on your blog. That was fun.
 
Read MasterKoda’s Best Book 2012 Indie Published – The Bond, A Paranormal Love Story in e-book or paperback.

More than 10,000 copies of Missing Flowers were downloaded in four days! Get your copy now. Now available in print.

Have you got your copy of the Amazon Kindle bestseller, Mystique Rising (formerly Let Us Play, A Rock ‘n’ Roll Love Story)? 

Travel the city with The Vancouver Vagabond

About Karen Magill

Karen Magill is on a mission to make the paranormal, normal. Everything she writes shows extrasensory powers as a common ability because she believes that these attributes are within us all.

me 001Forced to leave the workforce in 2000 by the onslaught of MS, Karen saw this as an opportunity to explore her lifelong desire to write. Initially she explored other areas of writing before deciding that her future lay with creating novels.

Missing Flowers is the start of a new series in which Karen will combine paranormal fiction with historical facts.

Karen lives in an eclectic area of Vancouver Canada and draws inspiration from the history and stories around her.

Leave a Reply

