Author’s Roundtable: Mary Ann Kempher


How long have you been writing?

Three years.

Has writing always been something you wanted to do?

No, though I’ve always enjoyed writing I didn’t consider writing a book until three years ago.

What books or stories have you written? Published?

Mocha, Moonlight and Murder is my first book, so far.

9781620151402-cvr_Createspace.inddCan you tell us a little about your book? What is it about?

Mocha, Moonlight and Murder is romantic suspense. It will appeal to romance lovers, because Scott and Katherine (eventually) have such a fantastic friendship that blossoms into something more. They really like each other, and the reader will really like them. It will also appeal to readers who love a good mystery; a woman is brutally murdered three blocks from Katherine’s. She sees the killer as he’s preparing to dispose of the woman’s body, but manages to out run him. He finds out who she is and starts stalking her.

Are the books based on personal experiences?

The witty banter between my main characters is reflective of my husband and I. Other than that, no.

Is there any advice you have been given that you could give to a young up-and-coming writer?

Yes, before you start writing, buy yourself a few good self-help books in the genre you want to write. There are very few things you’d try to do without first getting some instructions, why is writing any different? I would also highly suggest you send your finished manuscript to The Editorial Department; they do a fantastic job showing and telling you where the MS has flaws.

Several of my guests have often said writing is therapeutic and relaxes them. Can you talk a little about how writing relaxes you? Any specific examples you can share?

I wouldn’t say it relaxes me, but there is a really nice sense of accomplishment you feel after a writing session. Sometimes I write for just a few minutes, sometimes for hours—if I’ve written a lot and I feel good about what I wrote, that’s the best feeling for a writer.

Do you like to read? If so, what are your favorite genres and why?

I love the classics. Three Musketeers, Catcher in the Rye, etc., but my favorite book is Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen.

Can you talk about how important reviews are to writers?

Well I’m no expert, especially since this is my first book. I know as a reader that the review/rating won’t make me read the book or not read the book—but it does encourage me to take a closer look. As an author, I’m told it’s wise to not look at your own review since not everyone will like your book. Not looking will be a lot easier said than done.

Recent MeAbout Mary Ann Kempher

My family moved to Reno, Nev., where Mocha, Moonlight and Murder is set when I was 15. I currently live in Florida with my husband and two children.

My favorite authors are Jane Austen and Agatha Christie. My guilty pleasures include any and all sweets. I love all cake, cookies, brownies and, of course, a grande Café Mocha.  

Check out Mary Ann’s website, learn more about her and buy her books on Amazon and Barnes and Noble, follow her on Twitter and become a fan on Facebook.

Leave a Reply

