Fallacies


~Fallacies~
Heather Fields

Paper or plastic?
Whatever will get the job done.
Chicken or beef?
Will turkey suffice?
Boy or girl?
Does it really matter?
Man or woman?
Will my gender make a difference?
Blonde or brunette?
Trust me. I’m not the stereotype.
Short or tall?
I’m not what you think.
Large or small?
I am capable regardless.
Single or married?
Is my purpose contingent upon this?paper plastic
College education or high school drop-out?
Will this be the deciding factor?
Apartment or house?
Will where I live determine my success?
Sheltered or homeless?
I still don’t understand.
Ride or walk?
You think this is the question to ask?
Car or truck?
Are you serious?
Bus or train?
Is cheap the route I should go?
Rich or poor?
I have enough.
Right or wrong?
Nobody knows for sure.
Life or death?
It’s up to me to choose.
For yourself or for something bigger?
For He who determines all.
For He who has, does, and will.
I have a story.
It is not to be compared.
I am meant to stand out, not fit in.
Although my life has proven to be significant, its purposes are still prevailing.
You cannot mock me for any attempt at doing so is counterfeit.
My talent is your treasure although you may be blind to its merit.
I cannot be defined.
I am deemed worthy by the blood of Jesus Christ.
Fear will not overtake me.
I have battled and have internal wounds as evidence.
My tears are no laughing matter.
I will seize the opportunities that are presented to me.
Tomorrow is not promised and today is a gift.
Don’t underestimate me.
Who I am is yet to be discovered.

We constantly limit ourselves. We believe the fallacies, the lies that have stared us in the face since the beginning. The world begs us to choose, relentlessly in pursuit of our attention. The world is dissolving into a melting pot full of stale candy dying to be devoured yet we cringe at the toothache we can only imagine will surface once eaten. We fail to allow ourselves the chance to dream and the opportunity to show who we are because we’re afraid of what others might think.

you are enoughThe decisions we face and the choices we make can either lead us to our destiny or lead us down a narrow hall leaving us to pick up the pieces. We need to be confident in who we are, not because someone came along and told us we were enough, but because we really are. We are more than we can fathom. Our essence is not only a light to the nations but it’s a shadow of the blessings it leaves behind. We may never see or understand the magnitude of our existence but we can trust its influence on the world. With every step, every breath, and every heartbeat, the challenges of today will be the victories of tomorrow. With courage and determination, we will conquer our afflictions. They will not win because we have the ability to go beyond what the surface shows. We can and will claim what is ours. We will not be defeated. So forget all the fallacies you’ve heard. Stop comparing yourself to the people around you. You are capable. You are set apart. Your journey may not be easy, but everything you’ll need will be there when the time comes. What are you waiting for? Your destiny awaits…

3 thoughts on “Fallacies

Leave a comment